Encourage Apparel Companies Producing Clothing in Bangladesh to Join Agreement for Fire and Building Safety

Lovely, a garment worker who was 11 years old at the time of the KTS factory fire, barely survivedPVH -- whose brands include Calvin Klein, Tommy Hilfiger, Van Heusen, IZOD, ARROW and Bass -- has just announced it's new agreement to fire and building safety in its supplier factories in Bangladesh. Now is the time for other major apparel companies to join with PVH in ensuring that no more workers' lives are put at risk when sewing clothing for export. Show your support for the health and safety of garment workers in Bangladesh by signing this petition, which we plan to deliver to dozens of apparel companies to urge them to do their part to help end the series of tragic deaths in the Bangladesh garment industry.

To apparel brands and retailers whose clothing is sewn in Bangladesh:

On March 21, 2012, PVH Corp. announced that it has agreed to a landmark fire and building safety agreement with International Labor Rights Forum, Clean Clothes Campaign, Worker Rights Consortium, Maquila Solidarity Network, the International Textile, Garments and Leather Workers Federation and seven Bangladeshi trade unions and non-governmental organizations.

We applaud PVH's commitment to a safe workplace in Bangladeshi garment factories and urge all other apparel brands and retailers that make apparel in Bangladesh to join the same safety program. Hundreds of Bangladeshi garment workers have died making clothes for U.S. and European brands — this is an atrocity that must stop. We count on you to help save workers' lives.

Sincerely,
Optional Member Code

This petition has a goal of 5000 signatures
1-25 of 5222 signatures
Number Date Name Organization Location
5222 Thu Oct 30 21:14:18 EDT 2014 Melissa MacPhail CA
5221 Mon Oct 20 20:04:29 EDT 2014 Laura Gomez San Francisco, CA , US
5220 Sat Oct 11 22:16:21 EDT 2014 Danielle Telford ON , CA
5219 Mon May 05 03:22:46 EDT 2014 Anonymous Gold Coast, AZ , AU
5218 Mon May 05 03:22:35 EDT 2014 Anonymous Gold Coast, AZ , AU
5217 Sun Apr 27 15:15:03 EDT 2014 Petru Busuioc Liege, Select a state , BE
5216 Thu Apr 10 21:56:01 EDT 2014 Anonymous JP+01 , JP
5215 Thu Mar 20 11:54:49 EDT 2014 Leslie Guizar
5214 Thu Feb 20 15:21:05 EST 2014 Molly Greene Gjovik, NO
5213 Mon Feb 10 10:46:09 EST 2014 Falco Guthert B3 Ltd. Coventry, GB+43 , GB
5212 Thu Feb 06 07:34:44 EST 2014 Valery Young
5211 Thu Jan 30 23:58:41 EST 2014 Anonymous Ypsilanti, MI , US
5210 Wed Jan 01 07:33:59 EST 2014 Timothy Martin London, GB
5209 Wed Dec 25 13:55:49 EST 2013 Timothy Martin London, GB
5208 Wed Nov 20 16:16:07 EST 2013 Sarah Amidon Traffick Free Chicago, IL , US
5207 Fri Nov 15 12:43:55 EST 2013 cindy wilkins Select a state , US
5206 Thu Nov 14 17:25:51 EST 2013 Anonymous Baden , ot , FR
5205 Thu Nov 14 16:21:55 EST 2013 Mary Trumpener Edmonton, AB , CA
5204 Thu Nov 14 14:54:25 EST 2013 Greg Cameron Surrey, Select a state , CA
5203 Thu Nov 14 09:03:02 EST 2013 Jasmia Marcos None House Springs, MO , US
5202 Thu Nov 14 02:51:22 EST 2013 Ashley Artmann Los Angeles, CA , US
5201 Fri Nov 08 06:54:56 EST 2013 Nathan Jackson derrybeg farm CSA IE+12 , IE
5200 Tue Nov 05 22:48:39 EST 2013 Hanna Pritchett US
5199 Fri Oct 25 14:25:12 EDT 2013 julie claunch Ms. Fresno, CA , US
5198 Wed Oct 23 22:53:37 EDT 2013 Leah Witte Chicago, IL ,
Next ->